AQAST member directory

Greg Carmichael

Gregory Carmichael
University of Iowa

Regional-scale air quality modeling, air quality forecasting, trans-boundary air pollution, short-lived climate pollutants, data assimilation.

Dan Cohan

Daniel Cohan
Rice University
cohan@rice.edu

Regional photochemical modeling; ozone and particulate matter response to emission control strategies; uncertainty analysis; OMI NO2 satellite data; inverse modeling of emissions; satellite observations of vegetation; SIP attainment plan development; air quality trends analysis.

Russ Dickerson

Russell Dickerson
University of Maryland
russ@atmos.umd.edu

Surface and aircraft measurements of trace gases (O3, NOx, NOy, SO2, CO, VOCs, etc.) as well as aerosol chemical and optical properties.  Chemical transport modeling; satellite observations of NO2, SO2 and aerosols; nitrogen cycling and deposition; chemistry/meteorology interactions. 

Bryan Duncan

Bryan Duncan
NASA GSFC
Bryan.N.Duncan@nasa.gov

NASA satellite data, including NO2 and HCHO for air quality applications; long-range transport of pollution; general chemistry associated with air quality; NASA aircraft data; global methane modeling.

David Edwards

David Edwards
NCAR
edwards@ucar.edu

Satellite remote sensing of atmospheric composition methodology, instrumentation and retrieval techniques. Pollutant spatial distributions and temporal variations with an emphasis on biomass burning and wildfires. Observation System Experiments (OSEs) to evaluate the relative contribution of measurements in constraining AQ analyses and forecasts, and Observation System Simulation Experiments (OSSEs) to quantify the impact of future observations.

Arlene Fiore

Arlene Fiore
Columbia University/LDEO amfiore@ldeo.columbia.edu

Global chemical transport and chemistry-climate modeling; air quality and climate; sources of background ozone; intercontinental pollution; trends and variability in methane and ozone.

Jack Fishman

Jack Fishman
Saint Louis University
jfishma2@slu.edu

Impact of air pollution on agricultural productivity; Education-Public Outreach coordinator for AQAST – PI for the St. Louis Ozone Garden Project; developed tropospheric ozone residual (TOR) technique to map global distribution of ozone pollution.

Daven Henze

Daven Henze
University of Colorado
at Boulder
daven.henze@colorado.edu

Regional to global-scale air quality modeling, data assimilation, inverse modeling and sensitivity analysis, aerosols, ammonia, exposure and attainment analysis, short lived climate forcing agents.

Tracey Holloway

Tracey Holloway
University of Wisconsin
at Madison
taholloway@wisc.edu

Regional air quality modeling; satellite observations of NO2 and PM/AOD; air quality and sector-specific emissions, especially transportation, electricity, and natural gas; climate impacts on air pollution; air quality and health; transboundary air pollution; ozone over the Great Lakes.

Edward Hyer

Edward Hyer
Naval Research Laboratory
Edward.Hyer@nrlmry.navy.mil

Satellite observations of aerosols and fires; Global modeling of aerosols; Estimation of biomass burning smoke emission sources; atmospheric retrievals from satellite.

Daniel Jacob photo

Daniel Jacob
Harvard University
djacob@fas.harvard.edu

Global chemical modeling (GEOS–Chem); satellite observations of ozone, methane, formaldehyde, glyoxal; background ozone; methane; biogenic VOCs; transboundary and intercontinental pollution; nitrogen cycle and deposition; mercury.

Pius Lee

Pius Lee
NOAA Air Resources Laboratory
pius.lee@noaa.gov

Regional air quality and chemical climate; rapid response meso-beta and -gamma scale AQ forecasting for health hazard events; satellite observation of wildfire smoke and dust storm sources and transport; radiative and secondary effects by particulate matter; chemical data assimilation and inversion modeling.

Meiyun Lin

Meiyun Lin
Princeton University
meiyunl@princeton.edu

Global and regional chemical modeling; satellite observations for stratospheric intrusions, intercontinental transport, and emissions; sources and long-term changes of background ozone; intercontinental pollution; sulfur and nitrogen deposition.

Yang Liu

Yang Liu
Emory University
yang.liu@emory.edu

Applications of satellite remote sensing and atmospheric chemistry model simulations in air pollution exposure and health effects research. Spatial statistics and GIS. Climate change related health impact assessment.

Richard McNider

Richard McNider
University of Alabama at Huntsville

To be added

Loretta Mickley

Loretta Mickley
Harvard University mickley@fas.harvard.edu

Global chemical and climate modeling; chemistry-climate interactions – e.g., effects of climate change on air quality and effects of ozone and aerosols on regional climate; land use and land cover; wildfires.

Jana Milford

Jana Milford
University of Colorado
at Boulder
jana.milford@colorado.edu

Regional-scale chemistry and transport modeling; sensitivity and uncertainty analysis; air quality impacts of energy and transportation systems; receptor modeling and source apportionment; air quality law and policy.

Gabi Pfister

Gabrielle Pfister
NCAR
pfister@ucar.edu

Global and regional chemical transport modeling; analysis of satellite and field campaign data; long-range pollution transport; impact of wildfires on air quality; regional climate modeling; 

Brad Pierce

Brad Pierce
NOAA/NESDIS
brad.pierce@noaa.gov

Nested global and regional air quality forecasting, trace gas and aerosol satellite data assimilation, satellite visibility retrieval, stratospheric intrusions.

Ted Russell

Ted Russell
Georgia Tech
ted.russell@ce.gatech.edu

Health-air quality relationships, regional-scale air quality modeling, air quality forecasting, air quality-climate interactions, air quality policy, trans-boundary air pollution, data assimilation.

 

David Streets

David Streets
Argonne National Laboratory
dstreets@anl.gov

Emission inventories, satellite retrievals, technology forecasting, aerosol sources, historical emissions, biomass burning, black carbon and organic carbon, mercury, VOC speciation, pollution in China and India.

James Szykman

James Szykman
EPA

To be added

Anne Thompson

Anne Thompson
Pennsylvania State University
amt16@psu.edu

Analysis of ground-based, aircraft and satellite observations of ozone, CO, NO/NOy, other tracers to determine global transport, urbanization and regional pollution interactions between trace gases and meteorological conditions.  Specialization in validation studies with ozonesondes and other ground-based instrumentation.